I Give My Heart and Sole: Parkinson’s 5K Walk and Run

Parkinson's Walk Sole LogoI am proud to be an Honorary Chair of this year’s Parkinson’s Walk-a-Thon for the Michigan Parkinson Foundation. I think most of us know someone who is living with Parkinson’s. I give my sole to Parkinson’s on Saturday, August 8th in honor of Ron Momany of St. Joseph. Ron was the Finance Director/Clerk in St. Joseph, and I had the pleasure of working with him in the mid-90’s. Ron was diagnosed with Parkinson’s around 10 years ago. He is not alone in his journey and I invite you to walk with us this Saturday to show support.

As this is my second year in Meridian Township serving as Township Manager, I am honored to have the Lansing Area Parkinson’s Support Group welcome me into their family and to take part in the “I Gave My Sole for Parkinson’s” Walk-a-Thon & 5K run. This is a family friendly event where you can bring the kids to enjoy the bounce house, a sawdust treasure hunt, and workshop kits by Home Depot. I give my heart and sole events mean we participate raising awareness and giving our hearts to those we know living with the disease and we give our soles by walking in their honor. I invite you to join me at Okemos High School on Saturday, August 8 at 10am. It should be a beautiful outdoor day to spend with family and friends and show support. 

Meridian Township’s local government access channel HOMTV is one of the media sponsors for the event. HOMTV Parkinsons Media Sponsor created by one of the HOMTV Interns.

Leave a Reply

